Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Shaw Lane AFC app


Shaw Lane AFC - Match centre

adidas lockerroom
Shaw Lane
Nantwich Town
Sat 24 Mar 15:00 - The Evo-Stik League - The EVO-STIK Premier Division Full time Attendance 172

Shaw Lane 0, Nantwich Town 2.

A fourth straight defeat for Shaw Lane as their title hopes start to vanish.

An unwanted club record fourth straight defeat was suffered by Shaw Lane against Nantwich Town, despite the visitors being reduced to ten men early on.

A straight red for Matt Bell on 18 minutes after a lunge on Alex Byrne (pictured) seemed harsh at the time on the midfielder and a string of yellows afterward put referee Matt Sowerby at the centre of attention.

Nantwich had already taken the lead on 12 minutes as Sean Cooke latched onto the ball on the left side of the area. League debutante Myles Wright could do nothing to stop the ball going past him.

With the pressure on the home side the Ducks kept trying to find a way through to no avail. A cross by Tyler Williams on 28 minutes hit Paul Clayton in the area and the forward could do nothing to prevent a goal kick.

Williams and Gavin Rothery had the best chances for the home side before half time with long range efforts but the Nantwich keeper had minimal to do in the goal.

Shaw Lane looked brighter in the second half and were denied a clear penalty on 55 minutes when Williams was brought down in the box.

A long ball forward by Byrne found his fellow winger surging into the box, only to be tumbled over by the already booked Troy Bourne. The referee saw nothing wrong with the trip and waved play on.

Nantwich made it two nil on 59 minutes in a bizarre mix up which left Wright out of goal. A left wing cross to Joe Mwasile saw an easy tap in, but surely he was offside?

Shaw Lane eventually ran out of puff and a second denied penalty after Paul Clayton was jumped on in the area was enough to drain all hope out of the home players.

Full Time: Shaw Lane 0, Nantwich Town 2.

Shaw Lane Line-up: Wright, Ki. Lugsden, Serrant, Kel. Lugsden, Harris, Brown-Hill (Abadaki 61), Byrne, Norris, Clayton, Rothery (Reeves 61), Williams (Knight 80). Subs Not Used: Picton, Gordon.

Look the part with adidas Locker Room

Team selection

Wright, Myles Wright, Myles
Lugsden, Kieran Lugsden, Kieran
Serrant, Ryan Serrant, Ryan
Norris, David Norris, David
Lugsden, Kelvin Lugsden, Kelvin
Harris, Spencer Harris, Spencer
Byrne, Alex Byrne, Alex
Brown-Hill, Dominic Brown-Hill, Dominic
Rothery, Gavin Rothery, Gavin
Clayton, Paul Clayton, Paul
Williams, Tyler Williams, Tyler
Nantwich Town
  • 1. Myles Boney
  • 2. Jamie Morgan
  • 3. Courtney Wildin
  • 4. Joel Stair
  • 5. Troy Bourne
  • 6. Casper Hughes
  • 7. Joe Mwasile
  • 8. Matthew Bell
  • 9. Harry Clayton
  • 10. Sean Cooke
  • 11. Daniel Griggs
  • 12. Tobias Mullarkey
  • 13. Jordan Cole
  • 14. Clayton McDonald
  • 15. Sam Wakefield
  • 16. Stephen Jones

League round up

Other The EVO-STIK Premier Division results

Hednesford Town
Whitby Town
Halesowen Town
Stafford Rangers
Mickleover Sports
Rushall Olympic
Stalybridge Celtic
Warrington Town


Loading comments

Team sponsors


Club sponsors